Schedule an Advising Meeting

Students, meet with the NCS Team, or choose one of our calendars:

Resources for Students and Advisors

Celebrating Duke Students

Three Duke Students Named Schwarzman Scholars

Seniors Justin Bryant of Johns Creek, Georgia, and Julian Keeley of New York, New York, and 2015 graduate David Robertson of Fairfax, Virginia, were named to the second class of Schwarzman Scholars, which provides for one year of study at Tsinghua University in Beijing, China.

“I’m thrilled that Duke has three Schwarzman Scholars this year,” said Duke University President Richard Brodhead.  “A deep understanding of China will be critical to future leaders, and I’m delighted that these three outstanding young people, who have contributed greatly to the Duke community, will have this exciting opportunity.”  Read the full Duke Today article here.


Duke University seniors Laura Roberts of Dallas and John “Jay” Ruckelshaus of Indianapolis were among the 32 recipients selected this weekend for prestigious Rhodes Scholarships. Roberts is a Global Human Rights Scholar and Lowell Aptman Prize finalist. Ruckelshaus is a Harry S. Truman Scholar and Angier B. Duke Scholar. Read the full Duke Today article here.

Featured Nationally Competitive Scholarships

For Juniors, Seniors, Alumni, and Graduate Students applying for opportunities after Duke

Non-US citizens are eligible for starred opportunities! These include graduate school abroad and in the U.S. as well as global professional opportunities.

Churchill Scholarships 
One year of study at Cambridge University for academically accomplished research scientists.

Research and graduate study grants offered in Germany to students studying at U.S. colleges and universities. Some programs are taught in English and do not require extensive knowledge of German. 

Fulbright U.S. Student Program 
Fulbright offers experience abroad: teaching English, conducting independent research, or studying for one year in a master’s program to U.S. citizen seniors, alumni, grad & professional students.  

A degree at Cambridge University for leaders in all fields committed to improving the lives of others.

*Knight-Hennessy Scholars Program 
Any masters, PhD or professional degrees at Stanford University for problem-solving leaders in all fields.

Luce Scholars Program 
Work placement in Asia for aspiring leaders in all fields with limited knowledge of Asia.

Marshall Scholarships 
Two+ years of study at any university in the United Kingdom.

M David-Weill Scholarship 
Two year Masters study at Science Po in Paris.

Mitchell Scholarships 
One year of Masters study in Ireland.

*Rhodes Scholarships 
Two+ years of funded study at Oxford University.

*Schwarzman Scholars 
A one year, fully-funded masters at Tsinghua University in Beijing, China.

For Sophomores and Juniors

Beinecke for graduate study

Boren Scholarships to travel and study less-commonly taught languages

Critical Language Scholarships to travel and study less-commonly taught languages

*DAAD study abroad to Germany

*DAAD-Rise for summer STEM research in Germany

Foreign Language and Area Studies Fellowships (in Latin America, or the Middle East)

Goldwater for STEM students intending PhD-level research

Truman for community leaders intending graduate study

Udall for environmental and Native American advocates

UK-Fulbright Summer Institutes for short-term summer experience in the U.K.

  • OUSF