Loading...

Class of 2022

Bio

Hometown: Cary, North Carolina (unceded Tuscarora and Lumbee land)

Major: Program II: Critical Race and Ethnic Studies

Hobbies: Whether I am organizing on campus for Asian American Studies and Ethnic Studies programs, creating zines and art unpacking immigration, queerness, and Asian diasporic identity and experiences; or facilitating political education spaces, I always aim to use my voice and power to dream and build a better world that centers the needs of working-class communities of color.

Why Duke?

At Duke, I am involved in the fight for Asian American Studies and Ethnic Studies through the Asian American Studies Working Group, Mobilizing Asian Students Together, and as President of Asian Students Association. I am also on the East Coast Asian American Student Union National Board as the past Advocacy Director and High School Program Coordinator, and I have been creating and doing programming and political education with ECAASU for years.

During my time at Duke and with the support of the Benjamin N. Duke scholarship, I've been able to work at Community Engagement Fund, a local nonprofit in Durham; do research and creative work with Migrant Roots Media; intern with Southeast Asian Resource and Action Center; and engage in grassroots organizing as a Seeding Change Fellow with North Carolina Asian Americans Together. Additionally, I have been awarded Olivia W. Koonz Human Rights Prize for my zine "comrades: tracing asian (american) and black solidarities," Duke Center for Multicultural Affairs Outstanding Student Leader Award and Emerging Student Leader Award, and She the People & Ms. Magazine's 25 Under 25: Women of Color to Watch.

In Durham during my time as a Duke student, I have to continued to learn from and be in learning and growing spaces to better understand anti-racism, anti-capitalism, anti-imperialism, and the interrelations of structures of power and violence. When I don't want to think about the state of the world, you can find me playing Animal Crossing, drawing cute stickers, and crocheting my own clothes.